add to wish list | library


18 of 22 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

 

Reviews: Peter Frampton: Frampton Comes Alive!

read discussion

Reviews: 8

Review by Tom December 26, 2003 (0 of 1 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
I'm disappointed. Music is not very clean or dynamic. It is extended and the SACD does add 4 bonus tracks.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Noonions March 15, 2004 (3 of 4 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
I have to disagree with the previous review.The SACD 5.1 surround sound is pretty impressive-at times I actually thought I was in the front row at one of Peter Frampton's concerts in the mid-70's!As for the music,the 2-disc set is prime 70's arena rock at its finest,feturing the smashes "Show Me The Way","Do You Feel Like I Do" and the much-covered"Baby,I Love Your Way"

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by WalterM May 6, 2004 (1 of 1 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
This is my fourth purchase of Framton Comes Alive! The first one was on 8 track (I'm dating my self, the second on cassette, the third on CD and now SACD. When compared to other SACDs thre is way to much reverb in the multichannel mix. I feel like I'm listening in a tin can. Very disappointing.

Reviewed in multichannel format.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Compression Must Die May 8, 2004 (1 of 2 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
I have also owned multiple copies of this 70's mega-hit. The multi-channel mix seems overly bright to my ears and the bass is downplayed. I made adjustments to my sub mix to semi-fix the latter problem and it was more listenable.

The best solution seemed to be the stereo mix.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by anduandi November 9, 2004 (3 of 4 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
I am very unsatisfied with this SACD edition. The sonics are flat and the sound is sharp and annoying to listen to especially when you hear it at a high volume level or with headphones. OK, it's a 70ies live recording but wouldn't it have been worth the effort to create a more vinyl-like sound ? I listen to SACDs in the stereo manner only but nevertheless from a sonic point of view this is definitely one of the most disappointing SACDs I've ever listened to. Musically there is not much to discuss about. This is certainly one of the most important 70ies albums and I think to many people it is linked with memories from that time when we all were a little younger...The running order is sometimes confusing a bit. I had the CD-version of this recording and there was this little guitar piece "Penny for your thoughts" and the following title was "I'll give you money" with it's powerful drum introduction. Due to the original running order as recorded in the concert the two pieces are now separated which for me is difficult to get used to.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by CaryGrant May 30, 2005 (1 of 2 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:  
I have to agree that I found this SACD disappointing. Granted, for me, much of the material has lost its impact, but that is also in part due to the mediocre sound. Flat and lifeless compared to better-done SACDs.

Reviewed in stereo.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by sportbigred October 6, 2007 (3 of 15 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:    
I have not heard the SACD version, but the DVD Audio 25th Anniversary Deluxe Edition sounds good.
The sequence of songs on the DVD Audio disc do not follow the original LP record.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by analogue March 2, 2009 (1 of 1 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:  
A great classic rock album and an album every rock lover knows. There is an ever growing little batch of classic rock sacd's available now. Some are really great, others terrible and some mediocre.

I think that Frampton comes alive falls in the mediocre category as far as sound quality is concerned. It suffers from digital harnshness because the transfer was done using I believe 24/96 pcm technology. As such it has a screechy high end that at times can annoy and this ruins any benefits of the new digital transfer. In addition it is extrememly loud and boomy. Another sign that it was either compressed far to much in the studio or they increased the volume level. A person should be able to turn the volume up and not be annoyed. But there is an ever growing trend to make things louder that they ought to.

Why do this??? It's the cheap way out.

Another thing to condsider is that it have been newly remixed so if you are familiar with the classic double album from the 70's you will certainly hear a very subtle mixing difference.

Why tinker with a great classic album???

All in all a rather big disappointment in my opinion and I have a lot of classic rock sacd's so I can review easily. This could have sounded so much better if they just tamed the high end and the volume level.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no