add to wish list | library

19 of 20 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

Reviews: Haydn: Symphony Nos. 22, 44 & 64 - Boni

Reviews: 2

Review by stvnharr May 3, 2004 (2 of 2 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
A thoroughly delightful disc of music, a selection of early-mid Haydn symphonies. They are well played by maestro Boni and the Concertgebouw players. I enjoyed each piece equally. The sound is the usual Pentatone excellence.
One can only hope for more Haydn from this excellent combination.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Oscar June 28, 2005 (4 of 4 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:    
3 symphonies by F.J.Haydn: what a pity he is not played more nowadays. With 104 to choose from, there must be one able to please nearly every concertgoer.

Maestro Boni chooses 3 from the early-mid-period, and conducts them very well: with elegance and thrust, but also perfect equilibrium, which is a sine-qua-non condition for this type of repertoire: music must flow naturally.

The Concertgebow Orchestra is and ideal vehicle for such good music.

The sound from Pentatone is the usual excellent one. A must disc !

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no