add to wish list | library


49 of 50 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

 

Reviews: Miles Davis: Kind of Blue

read discussion

Reviews: 9

Review by Vladimir March 26, 2004 (5 of 6 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:  
I didn't think that I liked jazz... until I started to listen to Miles Davis a few years ago.
This album really changed my mind about jazz, this is excellent! The sound is so transparent it almost makes me belive I actually have the band in my livingroom. The sound quality is better than I excpected from a recording as old as this one. In the 5.1 mix the rear speakers are used for ambience, it fits very nice with the music.

I really want to recommend this album specially to others like me, that usually don't listen to jazz music but is curious and wants to give it a try. I think most people with a genuine intrest in music will like this!

(updated may 12 2005)

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Sckott July 20, 2004 (1 of 4 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
If you don't like Jazz, it should still be in the top 20 SACDS to buy. Sonics alone are in the top 15 best SACDs of all time. Everyone with an SACD player should own this disc. The only downside is that the 5.1 mix is less than inspiring.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Toni August 28, 2004 (1 of 1 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
As the linear notes states, there's something magical about this album. It's a jazz album which I'd recommend to anyone, even to those who generally don't listen to jazz.

Sonics are great considering how long ago this was recorded. MC mix is pretty good, it has really been mixed for 5 channels rather than given conservative ambient treatment. The bonus track, a different take on the 5th track, is interesting. It demonstrates how this album was all about improvisation and maybe that's why you'll never get tired of listening to it.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by vonwegen August 28, 2004 (2 of 4 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
An absolutely essential release regardless of genre. I have to disagree with some of the other reviews, though, as I think the 5.1 mix sounds great, especially in light of the 3-track technology available at the time.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by DeSelby February 6, 2005 (5 of 9 found this review helpful)
Sonics:
stereo sonics: recorded 1959 and sounding better than some of today´s records, although the levels of the instruments are not quite well balanced

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by nevagich October 14, 2005 (2 of 3 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:  
Well...I just about have bought any version that came out on this album....none of them sound as good as this SACD version..specialy the bass and the drumms all of the sudden are in...!! Coltranes sound is scary..it's very close...and how in the world could they record trumpet so clear 1959...that only tells me that lots of great music still sitting there somewhere..that they can give us with better sound...Hmmmm..?

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by uncle buck July 16, 2006 (4 of 5 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:  
One of jazzs greatest classics!
This SACD is far better then previous CDs i have owned, including various remasters..
Sonics a scaringly good, like a time machine.
Drawback: Volume is different between the tracks which could be a little annoying and the overall level is very low compared to all of my other SACDs. This does not affect the perfect soundquality though

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by FX168970 March 9, 2007 (2 of 19 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:  
Sorry guys! I don't agree. I could hardly bear torturing myself all the way to the end. Complete absence of melody or any other recognizable pattern. To me the band was just doodling all the way through. I simply can't follow the hype. The sound is excellent, though. Don't risk getting it just because everyone else loves it. If you know how kind of blues MD really is then go ahead - the sound is great.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Barb October 13, 2007 (2 of 3 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:  
M. Davis tr, J. Adderley as, J. Coltrane ts, W. Kelly p, B. Evans p, P. Chambers b, J. Cobb dr,
I think, everything has been said about this record from 1959 so let me put it this way: This is good music. And you get an alternate 9-minute take of Flamenco Sketches.
The sound is very good on this disc,of natural timbre and dynamics, not the nostalgic 50`s type but with very good imaging and soundstage,.
So if you like Jazz and want spend some time with your jaw on your knees, put this disc in your player and sit down.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no