add to wish list | library


104 of 105 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

CDJapan

Reviews: Dave Brubeck Quartet: Time Out

Reviews: 15

Review by Marc P March 1, 2003 (0 of 1 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
Who doesnít know Time Out. Itís one of the best known Jazz recordings off all time. There are some great tracks on this album, and it deserves the fame itís got. For me itís a bit of a ďmoodĒ record. I will only play it when Iím in a certain mood.
Time Out is a great record, with a great performance of some classical Jazz tracks.

Sound quality is very nice, better than any of the redbook versions I heard.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by bdautch March 5, 2003 (2 of 2 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
Sonically, I'm really impressed with this disc. Piano passages are never easy for any system to handle, and my system performs very well on the opening piano sequence of "Strange Meadow Lark". I also enjoy the decay on percussion and cymbals, and the rise-and-fall crescendos of several songs are tracked very well and realistically. Maybe not quite five stars sonically, but surely a 4.5 at least. Performance-wise, I personally enjoy Brubeck very much and feel that this disc is utterly deserving of its place in the canon of great jazz performances.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Khorn June 30, 2003 (1 of 1 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
As most of us are familiar with the performance I'll concentrate on the SACD sonics here. I feel the SACD brings a certain "intangible musicality" that no previous (at least digital) incarnation could offer. If you like the music the SACD version is a "must include" in your library.
I rate the sonics as 4 stars only because it is hard to compare older recordings to the best SOTA new ones on an "ultimate sonic quality" level. I'm sure if it was recorded using todays best equipment and mastering it would rate at least five stars.

This SACD was listened to in 2 channel stereo.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by projectmayhem325 July 21, 2003 (1 of 2 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
I've loved this album ever since I first heard it, and I was not let down by the newly remastered SACD form of it. Every aspect of the music is so discrete, every cymbal crash, every piano key, it's amazing. Anyone who has any interest in Jazz whatsoever needs ot listen to this one.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by lim June 3, 2004 (0 of 1 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
Love this album, My favourite Dave Brubeck Quartet album to date. My favourite track in this album is "Take Five". Along with Mile Davis King of Blue, this is my favourite re-master Jazz SACD I own. recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by nickc March 8, 2005 (3 of 3 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
This is such a joyous disc! This and "Kind of Blue" are the first two jazz discs I have bought and I have loved them both. "Kind of Blue" is a much darker, deeper disc: Davis's Beethoven to Brubeck's Haydn. The opening piano motif on Rondo al a Turk puts a smile on your face which never fades for the whole performance. "Waltz for Kathy" is another favourite of mine.
The MC sound is excellent. Drums could be coming from the front left corner of the room. Brubeck's piano is not as well reproduced as the other instruments but that is excusable: it is such a hard instrument to record. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Croc June 28, 2006 (0 of 3 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:  
true classics and an absolutr must have.
sound is very good - quite surprising for such an old recording.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by boguspomp July 2, 2006 (9 of 11 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:    
Here is the other recording, that I know since I'm born. My dad would play it every weekend at least once. What did this do to me ? I'm a music fanatic with more than 10.000 CD's and already 100's of SA-CD's and DVD-Audio's.

We had the LP of course and the first CD version that came out. LP sound was great at that time - but what could I say in looking back to the mid/end 60's about sound in all honesty ?

LS way up on top of the bookshelf and rather small, recold player quite good, but...

You get the idea. But this is anyway one of the cases, where the music speaks for itself. Among my alltime 25 albums.

Ok to come back to the CD version. Yes, you could listen to it, but I would not put it into the player as often, as I would have liked to. Later I purchased the SBM 20 Bit version, which wa a little better, but again ( like the Stan Getz) a little harsh and also a lot of hiss actually.

I thought, ok, as this recording is from 1962 there must be hiss, thats the way it is..

Got this as a SA-CD and wooop, hiss is gone, harshness is gone, just plain good sound. Smooth and punchy as it should be.

The Bass is something else.You see Eugene Wright stand there and pull the strings. The Piano sounds really good now. Drums are crisp-nice brush work - and present. Saxophone is smooth and into your face.
I like the Stereo mix better, than the Multi Channel. I am just used to it. With the M-CH mix the instruments change their places, which just sounds odd to me.
Guys, don't make a M-CH when the recording is 4 Track. Makes it mostly worse...

Otherwise, very recommended - but you knew that already, didn't you ?

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by tentimestwenty November 5, 2006 (3 of 4 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:  
A decent effort. This improves upon the CD version but doesn't come close to an original LP or even the Classic LP reissue.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by JW December 29, 2006 (3 of 3 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:  
For fans of this album I guess this will probably be the fourth time we are buying it. Musically it's beyond reproach and I will not touch upon this here. I will comment on how much BETTER it sounds than the already nicely recorded (for RBCD) Columbia Legacy CK65122. This RBCD sounds pretty nice though I think the piano on track 5 for example sounds like it is covered under a blanket. It's when you compare this RBCD to the SA-CD you realize how flat it, the CD, sounds really. There is so much more body and timbre on the piano, so much more presence on the alto sax and so much more air and depth to the recording on the SA-CD that for Brubeck fans this SA-CD is an easy recommendation. This even after compensating for the somewhat louder level on the SA-CD. I do not have a copy of the LP for comparison, but I did try my Columbia 2-eye of 'Time Further Out' just for fun. The piano sounds better and the Alto Sax is more lively than on the Time Out RBCD referred to above, but the Time Out SA-CD displays more presence and body on my system. Anyway, this is a completely useless comparison so I'll stop here.

Jw

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by The Good Ed March 30, 2007 (10 of 10 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:  
Whenever I have a new guest in my listening room who hasn't been exposed to SACD or other high resolution formats, this is the disc I grab to "wow" them. The outstanding remaster of the 1959 recording coupled with the fidelity of the SACD format combine to create a "sense of space" that I haven't felt on any recording before or since. Having played in jazz ensembles in my younger days, I've always realized that there are small sounds and nuances which come across so easily live, yet are practically inaudible on CD recordings-- the buzz of a snare; the attack of piano hammer on string; the whooshing of air through open saxophone keys. The beauty and reality of ALL these things enter your listening room via this disc in a way that bridges the gap between live and recorded music.

Though Dave Brubeck has always been the most recognized member of his quartet (fancy that...), this album's third track, "Take Five", highlights the talent of Paul Desmond, both as composer and musician. Often overshadowed by Brubeck, here Desmond is able to let fly with a grace that highlights both his improvisational chops AND his restraint. As recognizable as this track is to even a novice of jazz, I can't stress enough its importance or its beauty.

Thus far, all of my experience with this release has been with its multichannel track. Though it is understated compared to other five channel mixes, I don't think I'd want it any other way. Left, right, and center channels combine to form a fluid and convincing wall of sound, while the surrounds are primarily used for ambience. Noise and hiss are virtually non existent throughout-- clean and focused sound greets the listener on every track. For the uninitiated, I can think of no better jazz album to foster a love for the genre. For the more "traveled" jazz listener, I urge you to revisit this recording. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by hawk April 30, 2008 (2 of 2 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:  
A very good album and great music as the reviewers here have emphasised...just two things to emphasise: As with the Columbia Records Kind of Blue, this Columbia release is understated in its use of MC...More for ambiance or to create space around instruments rather than the music is coming from all around you type of MC release. I also just want to mention that this is a single layer SACD...so you will be dissapointed(like I was) if you want to copy it to listen in your car for example. I guess because it was an earlier release it plays in SACD players only...just a heads up.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by analogue May 6, 2009 (2 of 2 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:  
This review will be short and sweet.

This is a very fantastic and famous jazz album. It is one of the most well known as well. It is most assuredly Dave Brubweck's best known work. It's "classic" status is not in dispute.

If you are not familiar with this album but are willing to take a chance on a great title............this is the one.

This is an excellent transfer using dsd to sacd. The sound is deep and solid with a good bottom end. The drums have weight and the sax is spot on and the sound and the mix is fairly three dimensional. This is a realistic recording even if it's simply done.

Mostly though.....the music is classic and the album is a complete joy to listen to from start to finish.

Classic jazz done right and highly recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by mandarintje November 10, 2010 (1 of 1 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:  
Beautiful quality recording, it's my show-off disc.
Every instrument sounds like it's in the room with me... and they say cameras capture the soul!

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by pvcmusiclover January 16, 2013 (1 of 1 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:  
Probably the most classic jazz album of all time. Got to be one of my top 5 all time favorite albums.

Sonically, this whoops every CD and LP version I've heard to date. No question that this was taken from the original master tape. Very low tape hiss, wonderful rendering of space and fine detail in the recording and great dynamics. There are some pretty loud drum hits that get limited down in some CD versions (and I can imagine LP releases as well). A pretty good demo for what a real acoustic recording sounds like.


All that being said, I think there's still room for improvement. I think the midrange is a bit over-emphasized and bass isn't quite as defined as it could be. I have yet to hear it, but I would presume that the Analogue Productions version addresses these issues.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no