add to wish list | library


73 of 77 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

amazon.ca
amazon.co.uk
amazon.com
amazon.de
 
amazon.fr
amazon.it
 
 

Reviews: Dire Straits: Brothers in Arms (Ltd. Edition Digipak)

read discussion

Reviews: 10

Review by Goodwood May 23, 2005 (18 of 19 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:  
I only listen in stereo so, sorry, no talk of spinning guitars and drums here. The general view of this disc is the sheer listenability. The RBCD, especially the first version, could sound ferocious at times. It seems that the high end has been tamed, yet the mids shine through in a way like never before. Hereís a run down of observation on tracks.

1) So Far Away
The first thing that struck me was how easy the drums are to listen too. That snare doesnít seem as aggressive as before.

2) Money for Nothing
This track seems transformed. It seems to have a groove that I never derived from the RBCD. As a result I find myself less likely to skip before the end. It really has come to life.

3) Walk of Life
Here again the opening guitars seem a lot easier on the ear but with the whole track not really generating any new interest.

4) Your Latest Trick
The trumpet (if thatís what it is) seems to have more of that resolution that we love with SACD. The vocal sounds far more convincing than before with a lovely 3D quality to it.

5) Why Worry
I expected the multi-tracked guitar intro to perhaps reveal more detail than we have heard before. They sound a little artificial to me and probably donít let enough of the vocal harmonies come through but that is obviously a production issue. The quiet part from the middle going on to the end does seem to sound a lot more dynamic with more meaning and a great sense of interplay between the musicians. It fades away really nicely.

6) Ride Across the River
The great thing about this track for me is the electric guitar which wails away throughout. The solo has far more emotion than before. It really does sound like a guitar interacting with an overdriven amp. Now the trumpet in the background doesnít distract like it used to. Yet the vocal remains clear throughout.

7) The Mans Too Strong
The vocal introduction sounds really sweet here and the instrumental crescendos in the choruses again sound easier on the ear although, on my system, I still struggle to work out exactly what the sounds are.

8) One World
I really like the balance of this track, the percussion, little reverberant sounds in the background, funky guitar sounds. Just great.

9) Brothers in Arms
What strikes me about this track is how gentle the vocals are, something completely lost on RBCD. It completely changes my perception of the track. The guitar doesnít seem any more revealing but the Leslies on the Keyboards seem to really stand out and add to the end of the track.

The greatest thing about this issue is that I will probably be enjoying the music rather than just listening to it. If I have a concern itís that Iím a little sceptical about the ultimate resolution that is on the original master tapes. I heard that this was a digital recording and at the time this was recorded that would have had implications on quality. I would therefore like to bet that this is as good as it gets with any future issues varying in mixes only. However if you want to actually enjoy this album for its music rather than as a hifi experience this issue absolutely beats anything before it and I thoroughly reommend it.

I look forward to seeing other reviews.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Bobo May 27, 2005 (2 of 6 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:  
This disc is becoming my fav. Mch SACD that I own. Great surround mix, not gimicky. Well worth the 20$ from Amazon UK.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by S. Plukker May 27, 2005 (5 of 11 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:  
After the LP recording 20 years ago, the sacd brings this album in a new dimension.
Fantastic 5.1 recording.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Joelmc13 May 27, 2005 (4 of 5 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:    
Excellent, agressive surround mix (similar to Steely Dan's "Gaucho" mix). Much warmer-sounding than RBCD. Separation of instruments and vocals brings out the subtleties of the perfomances. Highly recommend - great demo disc for 5.1 mixing...

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Quadophile July 9, 2005 (7 of 7 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:  
I just cannot believe the dynamics of this album could improve so much with the SACD version. Very smooth sounding and exceptional vocal clarity. The biggest surprise was the separation of the intruments, each one very distinct and can be followed individually. I own the original version of the cd as well as the LP (a reissue) and it beats both of them hands down in every department.

Any fan of Dire Straits if owns an SACD player must have this album. I thought twice about buying this since this is the third format for me, but I am glad I decided to get it. Worth every penny I spent on it.

My system is two channel.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by sergio July 10, 2005 (3 of 7 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:  
I bought XRCD version 2 years ago and I thought sound couldn't be better.I was wrong.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by zeebee September 14, 2005 (0 of 3 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:  
Thank you ... there is God up there. One of the anticipated and long awaited release from the 80's music. Not much to add from the previous reviewers but must add that my surround gear may not be up to speed in terms of sound compared with the stereo set up so thsi will have to wait for fair review. Anyway, excellent SACD. Cheers ..

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by StyleAndEntertainmen October 12, 2005 (2 of 2 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:    
What a fabulous sounding album! Money for Nothing just groves and groves and groves. I never get tired of listening to this song. And you'd think you would because it's highly repetative. But no: just a big big grooooovvvvve with super crisp guitar distortion, clear low bass, sharp snare drum , ringing symbols, and a cow bell heard clear as a bell. My wife told me to get some new music - that is how much I listened to this album when I first got it (now I only listen to it when she's out of the house... 'cause I want my MTV :)

Seriously, the whole album sounds great. I play it on a quad setup (2 front, 2 back all full range). The surround is well executed with the focus clearly in the front. Occasionally a stun guitar will hit you (and I mean hit you) from the behind and/or tasteful use of background vocals from there as well. This is the way it should be done - no lead guitar from the rear please. PLEASE!

Overall, I give this the highest rating for performance and sound, it's one of my very favorites. Highly Recommended.

StyleAndEntertainment

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Stevesebastianb February 26, 2006 (2 of 3 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:  
I will start off by saying that I cannot comment on the multichannel part of the SACD recording as I listen in Stereo. I did review this recording in diffrent format for a better understanding of differences, they were:-

1. Black vinyl LP version.
2. Original CD version.
3. Japanese digitally remastered CD version.
4. And the limited edition SACD version.

The SACD version was a sheer joy to listen to as the sense of image, dynamics, timbre, air and detail was amazing when compared to the ordinary CD as well as the Japanese digitally remastered CD version. The ordinary CD version seem to be lacking and bland and the soundstage was considerably resticted, the Japanese digitally remastered CD version was a bigger improvement but could not compare to the 3D image and detail presented by the SACD version.

The fisrt 2 tracks were listened to in all versions. Whilst the SACD version is completely earth shattering it still lost to the original black vinyl LP version when tested on my analogue playback system using various different tone arms and mm/mc cartrige combinations.

This SACD disc is amongst one of my favorites at time of writing. The seperation and soundstage of instruments presented by the SACD were awesome to say the least. I will be buying an XRCD version shortly to also do a review. This is a highly recommended album.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Compression Must Die March 22, 2006 (0 of 1 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:    
After several listens in both 2 channel and surround, it is the best I've heard. This disc along with Honky Chateau from Elton and Blues In Orbit from the Duke are what I pull out to demo my system to visitors. I have an import redbook CD of this AND the HDCD version, and the others are coasters compared to both versions.

Don't miss it. I do prefer the 2 channel, but that's just me. The best work from Dire Straits IMHO.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no