add to wish list | library


35 of 38 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

 

Reviews: Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong: Ella and Louis

Reviews: 8

Review by Marc P March 1, 2003 (1 of 3 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
Great record, combining the talents of two major Jazz artists.

If youre not sure you should buy this, DO!

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Tom March 16, 2003 (3 of 3 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
I'm very pleased with this SACD. The sonics are excellent considering its age, but not quite reference. The highs and brass instruments are a little veiled, and some cuts sound a little tinny, but I'm spliting hairs. The bass and vocals are solid. The selections are standards and a little laid back for my taste, but with both sharing the spotlight, they're done in an interesting style.

Armstrong Plays W.C. Handy is still my favorate Armstrong album. It's a fun album. I can't think of another Fitzgerald album that I like better. I rate this a 4.5 for both performance and sonics.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by petermwilson July 15, 2003 (1 of 3 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
Greetings,
I have in the past purchased albums or discs to get access to a few certain cuts that made the purchase worth while.

This is one of the few that every single tune is great. there is no throwaway music on this disc imho.

Peter m.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by monotone July 16, 2004 (3 of 3 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
The sweetness of Fitzgerald's & the three dimensional Armstrong's vocals are further enhanced by SACD replay.

Definitely a must have for all SACD users. Pure classic!

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by uncle buck July 4, 2006 (2 of 2 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
This is on of the most classic of all jazzrecordings.
Sound is good. No drop outs in the treble.
All registers are fine and crystal clear, voices and instruments sounds great!
My only remark is that treble is a little "sharp", a little too strong maybe?

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Whitehall August 3, 2006 (4 of 4 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
The right word for this album is "lovable."

The selection of songs is classic. The personalities are enduring. The music just flows like a old friend sharing a nice glass of wine.

Sonically, a touch of tape hiss and otherwise not up to the most modern DSD-direct recording, but overall much better than one can really ask for from performers born in 1901 and 1917.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by JW March 29, 2007 (3 of 3 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
This is the music from my (your?) parents era. The 'archetype' of American Jazz. The recording of especially Armstrong's voice is unbelievable. A few sharp 'esses' here and there but nothing to worry about sonically. You are there. You're listening in on their session. It's that intimate. All the reviews have hit the nail on the head. The line-up here is also pretty impressive: Oscar Peterson, Ray Brown, Buddy Rich and Herb Ellis. You need to have this disc, period. Even if you don't like jazz :-), it's just one of these things. This is not a disc I would typically listen to a lot, but when called for it's unrivalled at many levels. The music of course is the American Popular Songbook with 'Moonlight in Vermont' and 'Cheek to Cheek' etc etc. Beautiful. A 1956 Classic.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Audioflea October 2, 2012 (4 of 5 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
If this were vinyl, Id have already burned through 3 copies. This Armstrong/Fitzgerald collaborative in SACD is proof that there is a God and he wants us to be happy. 3rd track; Moonlight in Vermont. Could be the purist and most beautiful thing that I have ever experienced. From beginning to end, this is THE perfect album; reproduced perfectly. Sounds like it could have been recorded yesterday. Brilliant effort and the reason we collect.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no