add to wish list | library


96 of 99 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

 

Reviews: Depeche Mode: Violator

read discussion

Reviews: 9

Review by hawk May 25, 2006 (3 of 4 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:  
Why haven't many people commented on this album? Is it because it is such an obvious
thing to say? I really enjoyed this album. I bought this and the "Music for the Masses"
and feel this one to be the better of the two, but both are great. SACD mix is really fun
to listen to and well worth your money. I also have their new album on SACD, but again this one beats it
hands down.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by mafarka June 7, 2006 (4 of 6 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:    
The DTS 5.1 mix on this album is absolutely superb. I would say (based on my system: Pioneer DV585, Pioneer 1015i and Audica speakers) that it is even better than the SACD. It provides a really deep and luxurious sound. The surround mix is brilliantly balanced and a real tribute to the remastering team. This is in stark contrast to what I feel is the slightly disappointing SACD Kraftwerk Max-Min which feels rather gimmicky at times and certainly less than compelling.

Personal Jesus is the clearly the stand out track. The last section providing the aural equivalent of shock and awe.

On a personal level this is a bit of a rediscovery of DM. I abandonded them after Music For The Masses when they started to use guitars. In restropect this album is worthy of all the praise heaped on it at the time (and subsequently) and I think I now have to go out and buy my third incarnation of Music of the Masses.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Tom April 20, 2007 (6 of 6 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:    
I'm not that familar with Depeche Mode.

I mail ordered this SACD, but thought I received the CD version. There's no mention of SACD on the front. It just says CD + DVD. On the back, there's a very small SACD icon. The booklet shows nothing.

But start playing the disc, and the surround sound is quite noticable. This is no CD. And the sound is great. Good definition and dynamics. Smooth trebble. This is an impressive album.

The sound comes from all directions. There's no attempt to create a live performance. I generally don't like this approach, but with Depeche Mode, I like it. Sounds real neat.

The performance is also very interesting and compelling. It gets your foot tapping.

I've only listened to the DVD once, and it sounds very different. The back speakers get a real working. Overall, the DVD version lacks definition in comparison with the SACD, but still maintains good dynamics. For a DVD, it's very good.

I prefer the SACD to the DVD.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by hifirene October 26, 2007 (3 of 4 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:    
This album was really worth waiting for.
For my opinion this album and Violator are the best of D M.
I think that the release of the album was planned a half year ago, but they canceled the release because of the comments they had for the terrible mixing of “Songs of Faith and Devotion”.
Songwriting and Sonics are outstanding.
The Stereo mix in SACD and on CD are so much better than the original album.
The 5.1 mix is fantastic as well in SACD as DTS.
The production of the album is an example for other bands ,(like the terrible flat sound of the Genesis SACD,s).

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by musicavenger July 14, 2009 (1 of 2 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:    
Really nice deluxe edition of one of the best records of its genre. Very good multichannel mix & sound quality.

Highly recommended

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by audvoid June 9, 2012 (2 of 2 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:  
I've had this SACD since it was released but recently rearranged my living room for optimal surround listening. I popped the disc in my player and was completely blown away. I've been a Depeche Mode fan for over 20 years and can honestly say I was startled by how great this album sounds. Along with a couple of Kraftwerk's releases, Violator is one of the preeminent electronic pop albums of all time. The SACD 5.1 mix can only add to its reputation. It's almost a cliche at this point but listening to the SACD 5.1 mix was like hearing the album for the first time. Every sound was clean and sharp and I heard things I'd never heard before. You really get a better understanding of how well the songs were written, arranged, recorded, and mixed. I give Violator my highest possible recommendation.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by jbaker111 March 18, 2013 (0 of 7 found this review helpful)
.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Audioflea August 20, 2013 (1 of 2 found this review helpful)
Sonics:  
Review of the CD + DVD combo.
This is one of those discs that I’ve been on the fence about for a long time.
I’ve never owned any Depeche Mode, so shelling out the current $125 Ebay price tag for music that I previously had only a passing interest in always seemed like a bit of a gamble.

But after only one listen, all I can say is WOW, the surround-sound bar has just been raised. In fact, this is so good that I can honestly say, if I had to replace it, I would easily pay $200.
I own many really good multi-channel discs, but aside from Floyd’s DSOTM, I'd put the DTS 5.1 side of this package up against any 5.1 out there; a rare 10 out of 10. Turn up the subwoofer, and it takes it to a whole new level.

Forget wall of sound, this is a sonic baptism!

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Italian Stallion August 22, 2013 (0 of 6 found this review helpful)
Sonics:  
Yet another reason not to trust sa-cd.net. All the Depeche Mode SACD blow chunks, they have been compressed/EQd to hell.

Get the original CDs which have full dynamic range.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no