add to wish list | library


36 of 37 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

 

Reviews: Patricia Barber: Modern Cool

Reviews: 8

Review by rsbeck June 7, 2003 (1 of 1 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
I'm having a hard time getting it out of my SACD player. It really rewards multiple listenings. Mobile Fidelity has done a masterful job here, as usual, and the sonics are impeccable.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by lenw December 1, 2004
Performance:   Sonics:
Old standards are given a 'modern cool' treatment - some a little over the top IMHO. The album sounds like it was recorded slight too 'hot' for my tastes with some of the high frequencies more harsh than many of SACD recordings such as the Telarc recordings I have. But all said this is still a very enjoyable album with much to offer repeated listenings.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Croc December 29, 2004 (1 of 1 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
very good performance - although for the starter's i woul recommend "cafe blue" and "companion."

soundwise all her MFSL discs are perfect and great fun listening to.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by DeSelby January 22, 2005 (1 of 3 found this review helpful)
Sonics:
stereo sonics: perfect work!

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Jaws March 7, 2005 (2 of 3 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
This is one superior recording... of some 60 SACD titles I have, I would rate this one amongst the top two or three. As if that wasn't enough, it is also first rate in all other departments, including in the lyrics and quality of the music and playing. If you have an SACD player, you are really missing out if you don't rush out and get this NOW!

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by sacd1 January 7, 2006 (0 of 3 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
sounds good to me.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by amatala November 23, 2006 (2 of 5 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
I am not going to discuss the performance here because I absolutely LOVE all Patricia barber's albuma.
Sonically speaking this SACD is (like all the other Patricia Barber SACDs) one of the best SACDs I've ever heard! Absolutely stunning!

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by prepdave December 13, 2006 (1 of 1 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
Absolutely stunning sonics!!! I have many of MoFi's 'red book' CD's, but this was my first SACD from the label. On my very modest system, the SACD performance was amazing. I can't imagine a cleaner, more natural sounding disc than this. Ms. Barber's performance was fantastic, as well...Even if you're not a fan of her work, buy this disc just to show the capabilities of your system! Thanks, MoFi and Premonition Records

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no