add to wish list | library


22 of 22 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

 

Reviews: Jorma Kaukonen: Blue Country Heart

read discussion

Reviews: 9

Review by Rinkrat May 18, 2003 (0 of 2 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
I saw this on a few people's favorite disk list and decided to give it a try. Well now it'll make a good coaster because I'll never listen to it again. It's bad, and I mean really bad. Uninspired folk music that makes the Greatful Dead spin in their graves. Don't waste your money on this rubbish, get Beck's Sea Change instead!

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Lotus June 26, 2003 (1 of 1 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
This is a truly outstanding recording. The sonics are phenomenal. Jorma is playing some music he loves and that comes right through. Fabulous guitar work, and great performances for all the guests on the record as well. Might seem nostalgic to some, but it is really much more than that. Even if you don't care for old-school country-folk-blues music, or never heard of Jorma or Hot Tuna, you should have this recording.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Khorn June 28, 2003 (1 of 1 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
This is one great sounding recording coupled with superb playing. Funny, I wasn't overly impressed the first couple of times that I heard it but, this one really "grows on you". I find that now, it is one of my most played discs.

I guess the best way to describe it is "back porch jammin' at its best" and I do hope that there is a follow up album.

The above SACD listened to and reviewed in 2 channel stereo.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by FredCamp July 19, 2003 (1 of 1 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
A great recording of a heartfelt set of performances. I've heard Jorma play everything from trippy 60s tunes to gut-level blues, but he seems to have settled into a groove with these songs -- one that allows him to show-off his talent and his favorite tunes.

The multi-channel mix is appropriately subdued, but it still adds a significant dimension to the sound. You will find yourself looking over your shoulder for the mandolin.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by jimmyjames8 July 22, 2003 (1 of 1 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
Jorma is back and he is on SACD, multichannel even. Great musicians giving a flawless performance of country blues meets back porch dawg music. Surround sound mix is better than just OK. Sonics are very good. Music will not be everyone's cup of tea but I find myslef playing it again and again. Got them Red River Blues!

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by bruser June 16, 2004 (2 of 2 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
Of the 25 or so hi-res recordings I own, this is definitely my favorite. The music has a laid-back back porch feel, but it's also incredibly engaging and warm, due in no small part to the superb fidelity of the recording. Every instrument is articulated in the mix, yet the performances are incredibly cohesive. Jorma and his buddies seem to inhabit these songs rather than just play them. If you have ever heard the first few Hot Tuna albums or any of Jorma's solo work, such as "Quah", this is very similar in style and feel. This music never fails to pick me up.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by fluffn0se January 21, 2005 (2 of 2 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
This is one of my favorite SACDs. The recording fidelity is ABSOLUTELY BEAUTIFUL and the SACD makes a huge difference. Everything is crystal clear, with even the subtle characteristics of each instrument coming right through. If you close your eyes, it sounds like you are situated right in the middle of a jam room.

Music-wise, this is spectacular. I've seen Jorma play a couple times during the past couple years, and this represents what he is doing now. ...Laid back, bluesy, back-porch feel, but still with plenty of upbeat and loads of energy in the playing. All the players are, really, all-stars so, as you would expect, the playing to be extremely tight. Even though the music is bluesy, it will make you feel so good all over.

PICK THIS UP IF YOU LIKE ACOUSTIC MUSIC! Argueably, Jorma's best!

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by OM October 23, 2005 (0 of 4 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:  
This disc frustrates me. It had the potential to be one of the best surround acoustic recordings I own, yet it has a flaw that consistently pulls me out of the experience. The mix seems to have a strange effect that can't quite be described as "reverb". It's more like a subtle replication of front channel information in the surround channels. When listening I find it extremely distracting and I can't possibly imagine what it is (or maybe more accurately, what the surround mix engineer intended it to be). I even had an audiophile friend of mine come by to take a listen and he agreed with my assessment: distracting and confusing.

I'm confident that it isn't a problem with my system or its configuration (there's a description of my system in my profile). I have plenty of other surround recordings (acoustic and otherwise) that don't contain anything quite like this bizarre sound. What makes this truly frustrating is that the performance is fantastic and it seems to be a positively stunning recording without any other flaws. I may have to start listening to it in stereo instead.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Djoel January 29, 2013 (2 of 2 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:    
Just finish listening to this marvelous recording, which I don't know much of this gentleman's music or career. A few years ago I would have been bashing this disc, more so for the lack of understanding the music, you wouldn't have caught me listening to while breathing sweet life, but I have to say it's a great recording, clean and open with great imaging. Which I now appreciate, and respect these musicians.
The Multi Ch/rear speakers is subtle creating a lovely sonic bubble which is really nice with this type of music. I have speakers with ribbon tweeters and I'll go as far to say this recording comes through like a breath of fresh air/y, really shows off this type of tweeter. The singers voice is so life like it put a smile on my face...These are the little things that makes this hobby so worth the trouble.
Now I would like to get another listen without the family around, just me and a brew toe tapping.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no