add to wish list | library


29 of 30 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

 

Reviews: The Doobie Brothers: Takin' It To The Streets

read discussion

Reviews: 8

Review by kegumo July 27, 2010 (3 of 3 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
I had never heard the entire album before I brought this SACD.Really only heard loud CD versions of the hits "Taking it to the Streets" and "Minute by Minute". What a great revelation it was hearing the entire album as it should sound. It is a wonderful fusion of funk/soul and jazz played by a great set of musicians. There are no fillers on it and musically it is very tight rather than the "jam session" feel earlier Doobies albums had.

Sonically it is superb and has a real analogue feel. It was a little strange at first to hear the "neutral" sound that Mofi had created but I realise the CD versions were pumped full of bass/tone at the expense of a lot of the background instruments. On the SACD the bass and percussion are exceptionally clear and the horn instruments blend in to the tracks without deafening you. As mentioned in other reviews it is the subtleness of the music that comes out so well in this SACD. On one or two of the tracks Michael McDonalds vocals sound a little faint but this may be part of the original recording.

MOFI have done a great job here and I look forward to any future Doobie releases of this calibre

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Pjotr September 14, 2010 (1 of 2 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
I never heard this album before. Great songs and for sure one of the best sounding sacd's I have.
Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by lampertb January 28, 2011 (0 of 1 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
Okay, well, music-wise, let's be clear... this album is kind of like a Bruce Lee movie. If you can appreciate it and actually like that kind of thing, then you are never, EVER going to get a more crystal clear, lifelike, well-produced version of this release.

My opinion? I personally like Bruce Lee movies. :-) This release is sweet!

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Eyolf November 28, 2011 (1 of 4 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
This sacd sounds dreadful. The sound is flat, no bass, no midts no air and treble. It sounds as if recorded with a blanket on the speaker front. It is just so flat that I sold it straight away. My question is: Don't MOFI listen to what they release before shiping? Do they have inferior equipment, studio monitors, or do they just have bad ears? Deeply usatisfying release.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Venomous January 22, 2012 (0 of 7 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
This one doesn't sound as bad as the doors, but it definitely still sucks.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by jimbo1960 April 17, 2012
Performance:   Sonics:
I had to add my 2 cents worth when I saw a few reviewers bashing the sound quality. The sound quality on this title is excellent. One reviewer described it as 'analogue' sounding, and I'd agree. If you like the Doobie Brothers and you have a good stereo, you won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by pvcmusiclover January 16, 2013 (0 of 1 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
Compared to some of the earlier Doobie MFSL releases, this is definitely flatter with less reverb. Definitely great clean, spacious sound though. A little peaky in the midrange and lacking in treble - nothing a bit of EQ can't fix.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Marpow March 14, 2015 (1 of 3 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
The Doobie Brothers: Takin' It To The Streets Hybrid SACD Stereo Only

Thanks for reading these 4 Doobie Brothers reviews, or not.

This MOFI released in 2010, my #05495. Michael McDonald comes to sing and trades with Patrick Simmons. Tom Johnston still struggling shows up and gives a hand.

Performance: By adding the brilliant vocals of Micheal McDonald and with his Steely Dan influence the band changed a bit. I would assume gaining and losing fans but for me I liked his appearance as at the time it was a fresh approach. Who knows maybe they would have stalled out had he not arrived. The music of course now different and completely different than the previous Stampede. This new line up more slick and keyboard/synth than the solid guitar sound of past. I like it.

Stereo Sonics: Again, I am not going to waste our time with audiophile adjectives. It is a great reissue, sounds great, stereo separation is perfect with great EQ on all levels. More flowing bass lines, strings, synths, all combine very well for a stereo super star.

Packaging: Mini LP, cardboard gatefold. Open to a picture of San Francisco skyline and photos of band.
Standard MOFI recording notes. Mini paper booklet with small historical notes.

Great issue and glad I have it along with all The Doobie Brothers recordings. Interesting that all versions of recordings done by the Doobie Brothers have high DR values, must be a credit to the band and Ted Templeman.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no