add to wish list | library


114 of 119 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

 

Reviews: Peter Gabriel: Up

read discussion

Reviews: 10

Review by emilsjr June 29, 2003 (10 of 11 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
After a 10 year absence, Peter Gabriel returns with "Up". Although a majority of the music here is more about feeling "down", this album is a very solid effort. When I first listened to it on Redbook, I was disappointed. After all, it was a long wait and after hearing about the 150 songs Peter Gabriel wrote during this time, nothing could have met the expectations placed on this album.

However, this is the type of album that grows on you. And it continues to blossom with this SACD. this material seems to have been made for multi-channel. Even a dud like "The Barry Williams Show" gains new life and depth when listening to it in multi-channel. The sonics on this disc are very good, right up there with Beck's "Sea Change". "Growing up" expecially is much improved with this wide open, agressive mix.

While the stereo mix is an improvement over the redbook, you really need to hear this album in multi-channel to appreciate it. If you are looking for SO part 2, keep waiting. But if you are willing to give it some time, you will come to appreciate this album. Especially in Multi-channel.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Slipperman November 27, 2003 (5 of 6 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
In my oppinion, this album is the best one from Peter Gabriel. It all beginns with "Darkness",a really spooky track but still one of the best things he ever did! I can remember when I first listened to the CD and the loudness pitch was very high. It begins very quiet and then WWWWHOOOOSSHH!!! WOW! And this effect is really stunning on this SACD! It's one of the best SACDs I own, because the sound is cristall clear and the bass line is really good! "Growing Up" sounds more agressive, the drums are much louder than on the CD! My favourite tracks on this SACD are "No Way Out" because in my opionion, it's one of the best songs he ever performed and the multichannel mix is very good indeed and "I Grieve"! Listen to " I Grieve" in Multichannel and drift away into a different world of sound! This is definitive a MUST HAVE for everyone who owns a SACD Player!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Toni May 20, 2004 (2 of 3 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
Not much to add previous reviews, this is my favorite Peter Gabriel album. Sonics on the SACD are pure, multichannel mix is awesome and dynamics are wide and clear. This is the kind of music which benefits from the extra channels. This disc is also very good demo disc to show off your system, it contains very low and high tones as well as punchy bass and crystal clear strings.

Simply one of the best rock/pop SACDs I've heard. If they'd only do multichannel versions of other PG albums as well.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by mukkachukka January 9, 2005 (2 of 4 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
Brilliant album. Brilliant 5.1. One of the ESSENTIAL rock SACDs on the market. Buy it now!

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Jaws March 13, 2005 (2 of 3 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
This is an exceptionally good sounding SACD, as numerous others have pointed out. Overall, I would rate this alongside 'So','Us', and 'Passion', all among the better later efforts of Peter Gabriel. However, I think this one has the edge as far as sonics are concerned. The range of sounds heard on track 2 is staggering. Even in stereo (I have not heard this in multi-channel), it sounds as though all these high frequencies are flying around the room in circles... I had to turn and check extra speakers hadn't marterialised without my noticing... and the bass is so powerful and punchy, it's scary. A must buy for audiophile rock fans everywhere...

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by boguspomp July 2, 2006 (2 of 4 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:    
I want to make it short this time. One of the best PG ever. The M-CH mix is on the spot and includes you in the experience.
Not overdone like many other contemporary recordings this M-Ch mix sets accents through out the duration.

Well done and hopefully more is coming.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Intruder December 2, 2007 (5 of 5 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:    
I own all of Peter Gabriels SACD's and this is by far the best. It is also the only multichannel mix. It envelopes the listener and allows you to be a part of the experience without being complex or confusing to the ear. In short it's the best SACD I own and my collection has grown extensively yet the quality of this SACD is yet to be outdone.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by burn808 February 12, 2008 (1 of 1 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:    
Both the songs and the sound quality of this SACD are beyond compare. The multi-channel mix is breathtaking. A must buy.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by king March 12, 2009 (3 of 4 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:    
EXQUISITE.

I feel that the only thing you may not like is the style. It does come across as a little aggressive in places. I feel that this spoils the beauty of the album as it wakes you from your snoozy involvement and makes you realise you are listening to a recording rather than feeling it. Track 3 is beautiful. first rate on in all areas. But it will not be to everyone's taste. its a grower either like or dislike.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by The Mule January 18, 2013 (1 of 1 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:  
I don't own many, but I do own about 50+ SACD's & 20+ DVD-A's and all Peter Gabriel's albums out on SACD. Saying that, this is one of my very favorite SACD's overall and definitely my favorite Peter Gabriel SACD. First off, it's the only one that's in 5.1 surround and boy is is immersive and rich in its surround sound. That 2nd track - "Growing Up" - WOW!!! I mean those rear speakers roar at times. SACD's like this one remind me why I upgraded to an Oppo player, Yamaha RX-A3010 receiver, and 5.1 Martin-Logan electro-stat speakers. Phenomenal sound!!!

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no