add to wish list | library


5 of 19 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

 

Reviews: Journey: Greatest Hits

read discussion

Reviews: 11

Review by Replevin May 9, 2003 (1 of 1 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
I don't know why I bought this disc, since I was never a Journey fan. But I did have some nostalgic feelings for some of the sappy pop/rock songs such as "Lights," which were left over from a mispent youth at school in northern California. On a day when I was feeling like there wasn't anything out on SACD, I thought....."why not Journey?" Why not indeed? The main reason would be that this recording stinks! Yes, there are some catchy classic rock ballads and similar stuff, but this stuff doesn't need the high-rez treatment. Some songs are ok, but others, including the aforementioned Lights, are very tough to listen to. If you have the cd, don't waste your money.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by swanlee May 16, 2003
Performance:   Sonics:
This SACD is not to bad except for one song Wheel in the Sky sound like they recorded off of AM radio. not kidding either it sounds terrible. Remember those little plascit records that would come in ceral boxes? Those had better sound quality than Wheel in the Sky. The rest of the SACD is not bad not great either but pretty average but you still get the SACD signature sound of analog like smoothness without PCM headaches.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by ma June 9, 2003
Performance:   Sonics:
I grew up listening to music such as this so my opinion is a little biased. I could listen to
this album over and over and never grow tired of it. The sonics are not as good as the original
vinyl albums but,I find most greatest hits albums usually don't sound as good as the original releases. Alot of detail but the sound lacks "weight".

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by fastal February 23, 2004
Performance:   Sonics:
Great collection of classic Journey songs but I agree with the other reviews - the apparent sound quality is surprisingly poor. I had to pop in another SACD to confirm to myself that I hadn't got some setting or EQ screwed up.

Perhaps they went back to the 'original' recordings and didn't do any additional postproduction or equalization?

I tried various settings on my A/V receiver (different DSPs, no DSP, etc.) but most of the selections were disappointing. My next task is to pull up some of my "original" tapes/CDs and compare. Maybe I've just become accustomed to listening to 'modern' recorded and mixed music and they really sounded this way back in my youth!

Bottom Line: Great to bring back memories but don't try to impress your friends with your SACD system using this disc!

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Noonions March 15, 2004 (1 of 1 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
"Journey's Greatest Hits" is a stellar compilation of the band's biggest hits("Seperate Ways","Open Arms","Don't Stop Believin",etc.).The SACD sound is good,better than the regular PCM CD,though the sound quality varies from track to track.The "Frontiers" and "Raised On Radio" hits sound the best,while the "Infinity" ones sound the worst,with the rest sounding pretty soild,namely "Any Way You Want It" and "Open Arms".Not the place to start,but a good addition nonetheless.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Compression Must Die March 29, 2004
Performance:   Sonics:
Expected but did not find much improvement over redbook CD. Not really sure if ANY extra effort was put into mastering for SACD. Some additional clarity on vocals, piano intros, and guitar solos is present, but the differences are subtle.

Was hoping for a whole lot more.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by StyleAndEntertainmen May 28, 2005 (4 of 4 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
What a cryin' shame that so many good songs sound so bad! Shame on those responsible for trashing the sound on this disc. It could have been sooooo gooood, because the songs are all winners. You'll recognise every last one of them. It just makes me mad to hear a CD like this. Good memories gone bad. Sounds like your listening to AM radio, not the future of high definition audio. I just want to cry.

StyleAndEntertainment

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by pete6737 November 30, 2008 (2 of 4 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
This disc is very disappointing. The sound is thin, compressed sounding. There seems to have been no thought about sound quality when the producer made this SACD. Poorly mastered discs like this, and there are many, do not help the SACD format.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by analogue February 25, 2009 (3 of 3 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
I think Journey is a great band from the 70's to mid 80's. Perry's voice is something of a marvel. But stay away from this sacd. Buy the regular cd.

I am so angry at Sony for cheating us on this release of Journeys greatest hits.
Let me get this straight. Sony along with Philips invented dsd and sacd technology and just when they are ready to introduce the world to it they go back to the low rez pcm masters and do a dsd of them and not from the original master tapes.

So what do we have here in this collection?? well..essentially you have something that sounds a small bit better than a regular cd. It is just a tad more stable but with the same resolution.

Thankfully there are many classic rock sacd's to choose from that were done the right way and sound incredible.

This one is a flop.....thanks in no small part to Sony doing it up cheap at the expense of the customers.

I can only imagine what Journey COULD have sounded like if this was done right.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by john563 August 11, 2009 (0 of 2 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
This is the only SACD I have owned that was so boring, that I gave it away. I only knew Journey from the album Next Journey, which I think is great. So a Best Of should be even better, was my conclusion. Not this one, though.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by pvcmusiclover January 16, 2013
Performance:   Sonics:
The actual songs on the album are dynamite. The sonics are kind of bad, though. As with a lot of other early Sony releases, the treble is hot and splashy. The midrange is kind of grainy, too. There is still some benefit to the DSD mastering, but I'd really like to see Analogue Production or Mobile Fidelity do a proper remaster of the album.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no