add to wish list | library


28 of 28 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

CDJapan

Reviews: Willie Nelson: Stardust

Reviews: 9

Site review by flyingdutchman October 14, 2004
Performance:   Sonics:
Simply THE Willie Nelson cd to get. As to the SACD, I rate this highly in sound as well. Willie is right there in your room as a friendly mellow voice singing old favorites that have never sounded better than they do here. This is the kind of music, other than jazz and classical, that benefit from SACD clarity. Don't hesitate.

Of course, there are some people who have a problem with this release not being multichannel, but I think with the close and intimate soundstage there is no need to discount the sound because it was recorded in stereo. This isn't music with a huge soundstage and for that reason the clarity of the instruments and Willie's voice settles in nicely.

So, a recommended recording and one that should be a part of your collection.

Review by Tom March 4, 2003 (0 of 1 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
I like this a lot. Willie Nelson sings standard tunes in his own style. I played the CD in the carpool today. One person loved it, while the other thought Willie was "flat." Even the CD is recorded well. I would rate the CD sonically a 3. In comparing the SACD to the CD, the SACD has more life, clarity, and dynamics.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by JW March 6, 2003
Performance:   Sonics:
I think this is an absolutely wonderful SACD, both musically and sound wise. I guess it could be viewed as a 'cross-over' album. Anyone who does not necessarily like country but appreciates Willie Nelson's distinctive voice and phrasing should try and give this disc a listen in my opinion. This 1978 (sic) album is still able to sound 'modern' or 'fresh' - quit an incredible feat. I also think that WN has succeeded in transforming these songs - it sounds so natural to hear him sing jazz/American Songbook classics such as 'Moonlight In Vermont' or 'All Of Me' it's weird. Hell this is Willie Nelson for crying our loud, not Tony Bennett or Mel Torme :-)

UPDATE: Funny thing music - it's now months after I wrote this review. The Nelson disc has not withstood the test of time. I sold it because I got bored with it. I stand by the review, but somehow this album did not stick.

Jw

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Khorn July 6, 2003 (0 of 2 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
Out of a velvety black background there he is....Willie. Just the right mix of instrumentals, complimentary, never overpowering. Great sound...Great music...Great SACD. If you are at all a Willie fan, get it.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by raffells February 2, 2007 (0 of 1 found this review helpful)
Performance:   
Agree with all the reviewers,Im a big Willie fan..stunning quality of standards,,,,,,not Country as designated...I would have preferred a later recording of these as his voice got gruffer.However my only gripe is that the two extra numbers of which I looked forward to ARE Missing..Not mentioned by previous reviewers...genuine sacd copy of the disc,No liner notes,standard Cd with minimun info...perfect night time listening..

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by cerebus May 20, 2007 (1 of 2 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
Absolutely stunning production by Booker T. Jones and vocals by Willie Nelson elevate this from the "Country" category it's been unfairly placed in.

This is an excellent collection of standards that belongs in any collection of American popular song.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by lampertb January 28, 2011 (0 of 1 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
Yup, the other positive reviewers are right.

If he wanted to, Willie could go the way of Tony Bennett and Louis Armstrong, couldn't he?

The best thing that a previous reviewer wrote concerned Willie's vocals hanging out in space, in front of the speakers. Darn right!

Beautiful....

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by pvcmusiclover April 11, 2012 (0 of 1 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
I had the pleasure of hearing this album on Mastersound half speed LP. However, that record had rather elevated treble.

This is a very neutral presentation of an absolutely amazing album. One of the few country/pop records that even makes an attempt at real soundstage.

A great performance and a wonderful test/demo piece.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Goodwood October 23, 2013 (1 of 9 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
Sorry but I don't get this.

Take an average pensioner off the street and ask them to sing in a studio. That's what I get.

Production is cheesy.

Wish I could be more positive I have really tried to like this SACD since it was released.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no