add to wish list | library

7 of 7 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

  SME Records -
  Tony Williams Trio: Young at Heart
  "Young at Heart"

Tony Williams Trio
Track listing:
  1. Promethean
2. Young at Heart
3. On Green Dolphin Street
4. Farewell to Dogma
5. How My Heart Sings
6. The Fool on the Hill
7. Neptune: Fear Not
8. You and the Night and the Music
9. Body and Soul
10. This Here
11. Summer Me, Winter Me
  Single Layer
Recording type:
Recording info:

delete from library | delete recommendation | report errors
Related titles: 1

Reviews: 2

Review by JW May 8, 2007 (3 of 3 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
Both Tony Williams and Mulgrew Miller I heard of but subconsciously if you like. Williams of course was with Herbie Hancock and Miles Davis (Nefertiti, My Funny Valentine and more), whilst Miller played with Art Blakey's Jazz Messengers. Both have roughly 20 albums under their own name, but have played on many more. Tony Williams was very interested in free jazz and jazz-rock, but this recording is very mainstream, melodic, lyrical and accessible. Of course the fronting is done by Mulgrew Miller.

This SA-CD is very much in the vein of the Bill Evans trio's, though Miller's style is more punchy or percussive. There are 69 minutes of very good jazz on this disc. This disc swings - the more I listen to it the better it gets. It's one of those. The sound quality is top notch - on my system I did not get the feeling the drums needed boosting like Claude says above but I know what he means for the bass. If you listen to the Bill Evans Montreux disc for example (just reviewed it here as well) the bass stands out more. Overall this disc hangs together well sonically.

1 Promethean
2 Young at Heart
3 On Green Dolphin Street
4 Farewell to Dogma
5 How My Heart Sings
6 The Fool on the Hill
7 Neptune: Fear Not
8 You and the Night and the Music
9 Body and Soul
10 This Here
11 Summer Me, Winter Me

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Claude October 7, 2006 (3 of 3 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
This is a historic session, because it is Sony's first commercially released DSD recording, made in Tokyo in September 1996. It is also Tony Williams' last recording, made 6 month before his untimely death aged 51.

From the musical point of view, it's rather pianist Mulgrew Miller's session, because in this piano trio he is inevitably the dominating player. They play a mostly standards, with no real surprises, but very well executed. Certainly Tony Williams' most mainstream recording as a leader.

The sound quality is first rate. The studio recording is very dry, and the piano closely miked. In my view, bass and drums should have been a bit louder in the mix.

As many other japanese Sony SACDs, this disc is likely to be hard to find soon.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no