add to wish list | library

29 of 34 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the paid links below. As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.
  The Animals: Retrospective

The Animals
Track listing:
  1. House Of The Rising Sun
2. I'm Crying
3. Baby Let Me Take You Home
4. Gonna Send You Back To Walker
5. Boom Boom
6. Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood
7. Bring It On Home To Me
8. We Gotta Get Out Of This Place (U.S.)
9. It's My Life
10. Don't Bring Me Down
11. See See Rider
12. Inside - Looking Out
13. Hey Gyp
14. Help Me Girl
15. When I Was Young
16. Girl Named Sandoz, A
17. San Franciscan Nights
18. Monterey
19. Anything
20. Sky Pilot
21. White Houses
22. Spill The Wine - (with Eric Burdon & War)
Recording type:
Recording info:

read discussion | delete from library | delete recommendation | report errors
Reviews: 5 show all

Review by MattMan657 September 22, 2011 (5 of 5 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
I was so happy when I finally got my hands on a copy of this. It took three tries on ebay for a seller to send me the actual SACD as opposed to the DSD mastered RedbookCD. Both failures I knew instantly from feeling the jewel case in the packaging as opposed to the digipack.

AGAIN! THE DSD REDBOOK HAS THE STANDARD JEWEL CASE FOUND WITH NORMAL CDS, THE SACD HAS THE CARDBOARD DIGIPACK WITH THE ATTACHED BOOKLET!!! Don't let anyone tell you otherwise. The SACD HAS an SACD logo right on the disc, it may be small but it is 100% there.

I'll start off by saying I am not a fan of the DSD redbook at all. I think its way to high and shrill, hurts to listen to. I was really really hoping the SACD would be an improvement and I have to say it is a significant improvement. I've heard the original recordings did not permit too high of a PCM resolution due to that time's recording practices but it doesn't matter to me, this SACD is awesome. I've never heard The Animals so clearly but with the warmth the redbook does not have. I knew instantly that this was a serious improvement.

If you can get your hands on a copy of this rare OOP SACD... GET IT! The digipack looks awesome with a very well put together booklet too. Overall I am super happy with this SACD.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by DeSelby January 21, 2005 (4 of 5 found this review helpful)
stereo sonics: Think the remastering result is the best you can get from those old recordings. Never heard the Animals in a better sound.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by jimmyjames8 September 8, 2004 (2 of 2 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
Chas, Eric and the boys never sounded better. I think all the hits are here. No real clinkers. You can tell House of the Rising Sun was recorded a long time ago in a less than state of the art studio in a short amount of time. SACD has a way of showing you the close ups, warts and all. The later day stuff sounds much better. Never heard the Sony Animals SACD but this one does just fine even if it's more of a Eric Burden retrospective than an Animals retrospective. Will we ever hear SUN SECRETS on SACD?

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no