add to wish list | library

18 of 19 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

  882 291-2
  The Rolling Stones: Out Of Our Heads (UK)
  "Out Of Our Heads (UK)"

The Rolling Stones
Track listing:
  1. She Said Yeah
2. Mercy Mercy
3. Hitch Hike
4. That's How Strong My Love Is
5. Good Times
6. Gotta Get Away
7. Talkin' 'Bout You
8. Cry to Me
9. Oh Baby (We Got a Good Thing Going)
10. Heart of Stone
11. Under Assistant West Coast Promotion Man
12. I'm Free
Recording type:
Recording info:

delete from library | delete recommendation | report errors
Related titles: 22 show all

Reviews: 1

Review by paulisdead November 2, 2006 (4 of 5 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
After living with the US version for many years I thrilled when I found out that the original UK version would be released on SACD. Now with the sonic/proto punk onslaught of “She Said, Yeah” replacing “Mercy, Mercy” as that opening track we have a more complete sounding album than it’s US counterpart. And taking out the hit singles like “Satisfaction” and “Last Time” keeps it flowing with any abrupt interruptions.

The sound is in glorious mono and is better for it. No off-putting, sparse mid-sixties mix with the drums on the left channel and guitars on the right, just a centred, tough sounding monophonic mix. The main different between the SACD layer and conventional CD is the bass. The bottom end on the SACD is much louder and fuller. Also the dynamics of the guitars have a bit detail in them, so they cut like switchblades on “She Said, Yeah” (like Richards would have wanted them too). Although most people may be put off by the tape hiss/distortion and occasional murkiness of the recording, this is the best we’re going to hear these masters without being sabotaged by “modern” mastering techniques with older albums such as over compression and boosted top ends. Absolutely recommend.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no