add to wish list | library

25 of 25 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the paid links below. As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.
  Analogue Productions -
  CAPP 1613 SA (2 discs)
  Nat King Cole - The Nat King Cole Story
  "The Nat King Cole Story"

Nat "King" Cole
Track listing:
  1. Straighten Up And Fly Right
2. Sweet Lorraine
3. It's Only A Paper Moon
4. (Get Your Kicks On) Route 66
5. (I Love You) For Sentimental Reasons
6. The Christmas Song (Merry Christmas To You)
7. Nature Boy
8. Lush Life
9. Calypso Blues
10. Mona Lisa
11. Orange Colored Sky
12. Too Young
13. Unforgettable
14. Somewhere Along The Way
15. Walkiní My Baby Back Home
16. Pretend
17. Blue Gardenia
18. I Am In Love
19. Answer Me, My Love
20. Smile
21. Darling, Je Vous Aime Beaucoup
22. The Sand And The Sea
23. If I May
24. A Blossom Fell
25. To The Ends Of The Earth
26. Night Lights
27. Ballerina
28. Stardust
29. Send For Me
30. St. Louis Blues
31. Looking Back
32. Non Dimenticar (Donít Forget)
33. Paradise
34. Oh, Mary, Donít You Weep
35. Ay, Cosita Linda
36. Wild Is Love (spoken intro and song)
37. Rambliní Rose
38. Those Lazy-Hazy-Crazy Days Of Summer
Recording type:
Recording info:

read discussion | delete from library | delete recommendation | report errors
Related titles: 2

Reviews: 4 show all

Review by Discspinner June 18, 2011 (11 of 11 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:  
Breathtaking is about the only word that describes this. Most of the songs were recorded in 1961 and intended to be updated versions of the hits throughout Cole's career. Most were recorded on 3 tracks and the multi-channel maintains the vocals in the center track. My review is based on a stereo listen.

Mid ranges are exceptional, and the few "big band" portions of the generally understated arrangements explode with life and realism. Recording limitations of the time would cause an expectation that the bass will be lacking and the high end absent however, I didn't notice this to be the case.

I had complained twice to Acoustic Sounds via email about the long time it took to deliver this, since I ordered it over a year ago. Acoustic Sounds was quite apologetic about this each time and I gather that it took a lot of time for this cd to be sent by the manufacturer in Austria. In retrospect, it was so worth the wait.

One other thought. Sometimes I have noticed on exceptional remasters in sacd that they approach restoration in breathing new life into the recording without altering the original artists intent. That is absolutely the case here. What an incredible preservation of pop music history.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Bobo June 23, 2011 (6 of 6 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:  
This set gives me the "heebie-jeebies". I keep thinking that Nat is in my living room. I don't mind paying $70+ when the finished product sounds like this. I will only play the 3 ch. mix.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by pontiac May 5, 2012 (4 of 4 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:    
I had been reading so many great things about this 2 disc set i just had to track down a copy. I am so pleased i did. Brilliant sound quality! I never get fed up of playing this set. The 3 channel sound really opens up the sound stage i feel. Playing the disc in 2 channel is also a real treat. An expensive set for sure, but one that will give a lot of joy. This set made me a nat king cole fan and i bought the other sacds too! Here is hoping there are more to follow.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no