add to wish list | library


30 of 34 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the links provided below. As an Amazon Associate SA-CD.net earns from qualifying purchases.
 
amazon.ca
amazon.co.uk
amazon.com
amazon.de
 
amazon.fr
amazon.it
CDJapan
jpc

Reviews: Steely Dan: Gaucho

Reviews: 10

Review by Tim-sacd December 4, 2010 (0 of 1 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
This release of "Gaucho" sounds more "analog" than the previous sacd. It's not as loud either. The bass is sometimes (slightly) less punchy than the first sacd release (flat transfer?). In my opinion, this version is sounding more natural and the way it was intended by the artists. Recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Espen R December 6, 2010 (1 of 2 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
Another winner in this SHM-SACD series. I've compared it to the previous SACD that is a bit "boosted" in sound. The previous Ludwig mastered SACD is also a bit louder.

The SHM-SACD is completly analogue and grain-free sounding. You also hear a bit deeper into the recording and it also has that very wide frequency extension that is typical for these SHM-SACDs. Even very high end Lp playback systems will have a hard time to match the wide bandwidth of this disc. You'll hear it if your stereo system is "up there".

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by analogue December 28, 2010 (4 of 4 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
The previous sacd release was very good but this new shm-sacd is even better. Sonically they sound similar but the more one listens.......it is obvious that this new version is the preferred disc to get.

Why does it sound better??? Because this new version was created from the tapes and a pure dsd recording was done from the latest hardware. The previous version was created from a high rez pcm master and as such was more agressive and loud sounding.

This shm sacd version is warmer, more relaxed and open and has real dynamic range. In every category it is simply better.

Well....that's 2 for 2 now as Aja was awesome too.

Highly recommended.

Hope they release more Steely Dan.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Quint June 22, 2011 (2 of 3 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
Another nod for this SHM-SACD. I just got done comparing it with the domestic SACD, and the differences were immediately apparent. The domestic is louder, more upfront, and more ďhi-fiĒ sounding. Not badónot by a long shotóbut pretty obvious. Itís the kind of disc that knocks Ďem dead at audio shows. The SHM-SACD, on the other hand, is considerably smoother, more open, and more natural. All the detail is there, but itís woven organically into the music, whereas on the domestic disc itís in your face. After about five minutes of listening, I was on eBay listing my domestic.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Joekras September 17, 2011 (0 of 2 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
What they said! I spent good money on a reissue of a SACD I already have and don't regret it. Improved in every respect and far more musical than the original SACD.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Eyolf December 4, 2011 (1 of 1 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
I most often agree with "Analogue", but on this one i beg to differ. The previous sacd is simply far better in every area. This shm-sacd sounds flat and veiled. Compared to the old sacd this new has lost the sparkle and dynamics, it is like someone has put a carpet in front of the speakers. If flat sound = analogue sound, well, then I just don't get it. In my opinion this is one of the worst sounding shm-sacd's I have heard, compared to previous versions. So I really do not agree with the other reviewers. The music and playing is as good as it gets.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by danfaz December 20, 2011 (1 of 1 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
I'll have to agree with the majority on this one. In my opinion, it's another hit for the SHM-SACD series. Gaucho sounds incredibly analogue-like, more so than Aja. The separation and depth of instruments and vocals is fantastic. I know it's probably bunk, but if the last reviewer played this disc a few times, I bet he would hear an improvement. It really seems to open up after a couple of spins. I am very pleased with this SHM-SACD, and find it superior to the previous version.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by The Mule March 2, 2012 (1 of 3 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
I love this SACD! My wife and I both said to each other - "This is why we bought an SACD player!" To listen to music like this in vibrant, full 5.1 surround sound. I just wish all of Steely Dan's albums were put out on SACD 5.1. I love Katy Lied, a Decade of Steely Dan, and Can't Buy A Thrill, but none of them are out on SACD. Guess Aja and Fagen's NightFly are the only other options, but I will be getting them!

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by rogrebe January 28, 2013
JUST A CLARIFICATION: one reviewer (the mule) discussed how much he liked the multi-channel effects of this disk. This is a stereo only single layer disk. I believe he was probably referring to the 2003 release, which is a mc/stereo hybrid.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no

Review by Marpow December 20, 2014 (2 of 5 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
Steely Dan: Gaucho SHM SACD 2014 Japanese Re Issue Stereo

This album originally released in 1980, the 7th Steely Dan album. There has been various re-releases this SHM SACD being a re-issue of the 2010 SHM SACD. All DR values are quite good except downloads, the 2010 having a DR 14, quite good, this is a copy of that.

Performance: 42 musicians are credited in this 2 year studio production. I very much enjoyed this performance and have listened to for many years. Music and lyrics written by Fagen and Becker.

Stereo Sonics: I listened via McIntosh equipment HDMI outs, and delivered at 88.1Khz. Very analog sounding, lets use everybody's favorite word, warm. Yet at same time very detailed, not to bright, just right. In my opinion just about perfect for stereo. I am aware of a multi channel available but I cannot compare. Wide sound stage and very detailed, lets hope so, 42 musicians, it better be good.

Packaging: Plastic jewel case with square corners. Mini paper tri fold lyrics and liner notes in English. Extensive liner notes written by Fagen and Becker, they continue to be full of themselves as in Aja. Japanese paper mini booklet all in Japanese.

Very glad I have this great and iconic disc.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no