add to wish list | library

9 of 11 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the links provided below. As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.

Discussion: Beethoven: The Symphonies - RPO

Posts: 2

Post by raffells February 21, 2006 (1 of 2)
Would it not be nice to see the "spare" disc on this set released seperately..
Has anyone bought this set yet and can comment...
Beethoven Symphony No.10, 1st movement (realised and completed by Dr. Barry Cooper)

1. I. Andante. Allegro. Andante

2. Gratulations-Menuett, WoO 3

3. Die Ruinen von Athen: Overture, op.113

4. Namensfeier: Overture, op.115

5. König Stephan: Overture, op.117

6. Fidelio: Overture, op.72

7. Leonora Prohaska: Overture, WoO 96

8. Die Weihe des Hauses: Overture, op.124

Czech Chamber Philharmonic Orchestra, Conductor: Douglas Bostock, recorded 2003


Post by raffells August 27, 2008 (2 of 2)
In case anyone hadnt noticed ,This box set of 7 SACDs is now available at a rediculous low price via Amazon.£7.95...
I purchased it at this price mainly for the final disc which has a decent and interesting version of the 10th symphony.(Reconstruction) .This is much better than the Naxos edition which I gave up on and certainly is a good recording ,well played by a czech orchestra.
Ironically the remainder of the works on the disc are very interesting and entertaing musically.Someone described as "chips off the masters block" which you will appreciate if you buy it.
The placeholder review from Amazon gives an excellent description of the remaing 6 disc of symphonies.So I will not be doing a review.Just to say after hearing some of the more "advanced" versions of these symphonies, each costing more than this box set,I would suggest these traditional versions are excellent value for money.The usual complaint of short gaps on Membrans still applies.The boring artwork is replaced by a rather nice but cumbersome box that defies and filing system I have.Excellent booklet.