add to wish list | library

7 of 7 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the paid links below. As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.
  Alia Vox -
  PRO PACEM Textes, art & Musiques pour la paix
Textes, art & Musiques pour la paix

M. Figueras, L. Elmaleh, M.S. Khalil, M. Mauillon, F. Savall
Jordi Savall
Track listing:
1 Gilles Binchois. Da pacem (La Capella Reial de Catalunya)
2 Oracles Sibyllins (M. Figueras / La Capella Reial de Catalunya)
3 Taksim (impro.) (Lire turque)
4 Le Coran : Bismi Alah ar Rahman (M.S. Khalil)
5 En to stavro pares tosa (Planctus de la Vierge) (M. Mauillon/ La Capella Reial de Catalunya)
6 Invocation Hébraïque (L. Elmaleh)
7 Prosa : Flavit auster. Codex Las Huelgas. (M. Figueras)
8 Marcabru. Planctus : Pax ! In nomini Domini ! (instr.)

9 Josquin des Près : Da pacem à 4 & à 6 (La Capella Reial de Catalunya)
10 O Mater Mundy (instr.)
11 Anonyme. Senhora del mundo (M. Figueras)
12 Hieronimus Parabosco. Da Pacem (Ricercare XIV) La Capella Reial de Catalunya
13 Christopher Tye. Lawdes Deo à 5 (instr.)
14 Anon. Sépharade. El pan de l’aflición (LCR)
15 Francisco Guerrero. O Domine Jesu Christe (M. Figueras & Hespèrion XX)

16 Orlando di Lassus. Da pacem à 5 (La Capella Reial de Catalunya)
17 Lachrime Caravaggio. Deploratio IV (F. Savall)
18 Lachrime Caravaggio. Planctus Caravaggio II
19 Ave Maria. Anonyme Chine (La Capella Reial de Catalunya)
20 Henry Purcell. In Nomine in 7 parts
21 Da Pacem (Chant grégorien)
22 Arvo Part. Da Pacem Domine (La Capella Reial de Catalunya)
23 Plainte En Sarer (traditionnel d’Arménie)
  Classical - Vocal
Recording type:
Recording info:

delete from library | delete recommendation | report errors
Related titles: 11 show all

Reviews: 1

Review by JJ April 20, 2013 (2 of 3 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:    
The latest release from Jordi Savall is under the sign of peace. Accompanied by texts by Edgard Morin, Fatema Mernissi, Raimon Panikkar and Antoni Tapies, the program is based on a universal postulate. “Pro Pacem strives for a world without war,” states Jordi Savall, “without terrorism and for total nuclear disarmament. The sonic Mosaic expresses itself as a living dialogue of spiritual music that is both vocal and instrumental, coming from different repertoires of the East (Armenia, Turkey, Sephardi, India, Israel, and China) and Western (Greece, Spain, England, Portugal, Italy, Estonia, and Belgium).” To that is added “four interesting texts on the function of art and of educative, philosophic and spiritual thought.” This book/SACD is also accompanied by three reproductions of paintings by Antoni Tapies dating from 1981, entitled “For Peace.” This recording is certainly one of the most beautiful projects by Jordi Savall in which we find the sublime voice of the late Montserrat Figueras. There is no way around the emotion on this SACD, which one can easily qualify as a humanist masterpiece.

Jean-Jacques Millo
Translation Lawrence Schulman

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no