add to wish list | library

3 of 3 recommend this,
would you recommend it?

yes | no

Support this site by purchasing from these vendors using the paid links below. As an Amazon Associate earns from qualifying purchases.
  Analogue Productions -
  CAPB SRVBOX SA (6 discs)
  Stevie Ray Vaughan: Texas Hurricane Box Set
  Stevie Ray Vaughan: Texas Hurricane Box Set
Track listing:
  Texas Flood
1. Love Struck Baby
2. Pride and Joy
3. Texas Flood
4. Tell Me
5. Testify
6. Rude Mood
7. Mary Had A Little Lamb
8. Dirty Pool
9. I’m Cryin’
10. Lenny

Couldn’t Stand The Weather
1. Scuttle Buttin’
2. Couldn’t Stand the Weather
3. The Things (That) I Used To Do
4. Voodoo Chile (Slight Return)
5. Cold Shot
6. Roughest Place In Town (Tin Pan Alley)
7. Honey Bee
8. Stang’s Swang

Soul To Soul
1. Say What!
2. Lookin’ Out The Window
3. Look At Little Sister
4. Ain’t Gone N’ Give Up On Love
5. Gone Home
6. Change It
7. You’ll Be Mine
8. Empty Arms
9. Come On (Part III)
10. Life Without You

In Step
1. The House Is Rockin’
2. Crossfire
3. Tightrope
4. Let Me Love You Baby
5. Leave My Girl Alone
6. Travis Walk
7. Wall Of Denial
8. Scratch - N - Sniff
9. Love Me Darlin’
10. Riviera Paradise

Sky Is Crying
1. Boot Hill
2. The Sky Is Crying
3. Empty Arms
4. Little Wing
5. Wham
6. May I Have A With You
7. Close To You
8. Chitlins Con Carne
9. So Excited
10. Life By The Drop

Family Style
1. Hard To Be
2. White Boots
3. D/FW
4. Good Texan
5. Hillbillie From Outerspace
6. Long Way From Home
7. Tick Tock
8. Telephone Song
9. Baboom/ Mama Said
10. Brothers
Recording type:
Recording info:

read discussion | delete from library | delete recommendation | report errors
Related titles: 5

Reviews: 1

Review by Marpow February 22, 2015 (4 of 5 found this review helpful)
Performance:   Sonics:
Stevie Ray Vaughan: Texas Hurricane Box Set 2014 AP Release. Stereo Only.

My box set number, 0596.

Prior to this review I read over the review guidelines as I wanted to be best accurate as possible for a proper review. I will try to keep it short.

The prior discussion on this set comes down to two questions, sonics vs previous versions and expense.

My personal experience is owning all EPIC RBCD's and one Legacy Edition of Texas Flood. I made no comparison to any of my owned discs. Track listing is incorrect on 4 of the 6 discs.

Each of the discs, Texas Flood, Couldn't Stand The Weather, Soul To Soul, and In Step have extra tracks that all tie into each other very well and all four of these discs have commentary by Stevie Ray himself at the end of the ORIGINAL track list, then you get between 2 and 4 bonus tracks, some live, some studio. When you read the liner notes it becomes a perfect historical commentary on the short career of Stevie Ray Vaughn and Double Trouble.

Also Family Style, number 5, comes before the last disc, The Sky Is Crying, number 6.

Performance: If I have to explain this it will take too much time. For me personally SVR and DT has served years of great listening pleasure. I listened to this entire catalog and there is not a tune I don't like and there certainly is not a disc I don't like. 6 discs of pure musical enjoyment in the utmost highest of regard for professionalism and a peak performance every track, every disc. As you will learn SRV played his best every moment whether in a broom closet or in front of 150 thousand people.

Stereo Sonics: I am only focused on these six discs, I am extremely confident in my systems ability to give me utmost listening pleasure, and they all sound wonderful. You can read the liner notes yourself but of course recorded at different times, places, equipment. You will also learn there was go to equipment and producers and engineers. The constant was the absolute professionalism of Stevie Ray Vaughn and Double Trouble, Cris Layton Drums, Tommy Shannon Bass and later in Soul To Soul, Reese Wynans Keyboards.
All 6 discs have great stereo separation, goes wider than the speakers, room filling, the mix alternates on vocals and solos always being in appropriate place, comes across very powerful, vocals are never shrill, drums and cymbals resonate very well, bass has great depth. When extras come in on a few tracks here and there you have no problem with who's who. On Family Style which is of course a different feel and mix Jimmie and Stevie are placed very well on sound stage and again sounds great, produced by Nile Rodgers.
Soul To Soul Note: Every version since 1999 was cut from incorrect source and included an unapproved version of the final track. Now this disc is restored to it's originally intended content.
If you need any test, listen to the title track of Couldn't Stand The Weather, WOW !!!
Note: If you where to purchase this box set in vinyl, you do not get SRV recorded audio commentary and you do not get any extra tracks.

Packaging: Box the size of LP jackets. Box serves dual purpose of housing vinyl or discs. In the case of discs there is a plastic disc holder that fills the space of the box. The large liner note in the box is a superbly well written historical commentary collectively written by author and band mates. Each disc has all original recording information, track musicians, lyrics, except The Sky Is Crying, notes but no lyrics. I looked every where for a diamond hidden in this expensive box, but, no luck.
Rear credits on large liner notes has many thanks to certain people including Chris Layton, but not Tommy Shannon who does have commentary in liner notes, huge mistake if not on purpose.

Almost There: This box meets all my expectations plus more. I feel I am now well equipped to have an intelligent conversation about this band because of this box. There is no way I can even come close to saying I am dissapointed in the sonic clarity and brilliance of these discs. They are sonic jewels within the box.
The purpose of any box set is to pull the artist in to the listener with a sense of history and completeness which this box set accomplishes.
To have this wonderful bands music come together via a devoted team of people that no a lot more than I do is an added pleasure. It comes all together for you, and to have audio commentary by SRV on 4 of the 6 discs, how can you beat that.

In Closing: I guess the question, "Is it worth $280.00?" should be answered. It depends, a casual fan then, no. For me, I am so very pleased to have the experience of history and great sounding music all in one shot, yes, it is worth it.

Was this review helpful to you?  yes | no